Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Local content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Election

Final Election Results: 2020 Election in DeKalb County

Get federal, state and suburban county executive races here.

Editor's note: The following are official results for the DeKalb County 2020 General Election, certified Nov. 17 at 8:31 p.m. according to the DeKalb County Clerk's Office. They include mail-in and early voting tallies, along with 65 out of 65 precincts from those who voted in-person on election day,


DeKalb County Circuit Clerk:

Story: With all precincts now reporting, unofficial results show Grubbs leads DeKalb County Circuit Clerk race

Rukisha Crawford, Democrat: 18,641 votes (39.85%)

*Lori Grubbs, Republican: 28,134 votes (60.15%)

DeKalb County State's Attorney:

Story: With all precincts now reporting, unofficial results show Amato leads DeKalb County State's Attorney race

*Rick Amato, Republican incumbent: 26,808 votes (57.5%)

Anna Wilhelmi, Democrat: 19,812 votes (42.5%)

DeKalb County Coroner:

Story: Incumbent Dennis Miller ahead in DeKalb County Coroner race with most precincts reporting

Cat Brian Prescott, Democrat: 17,618 votes (37.78%)

*Dennis Miller, Republican incumbent: 29,016 votes (62.22%)


Story: With all precincts now reporting, unofficial results show these candidates lead DeKalb County board races

District 1:

Jill Simpson, Democrat: 1,354 votes (30.86%)

*Kathy Lampkins, Republican: 3,033 votes (69.14%)

District 2:

*Tim Hughes, Republican incumbent: 2,744 votes (58.7%)

Christi Slavenas, Democrat: 1,931 votes (41.3%)

District 3:

*Patrick Deutsch, Republican: 2,669 votes (55.99%)

Joshua Orr, Democrat: 2,098 votes (44.01%)

District 4:

*Laurie Emmer, Republican incumbent: 2,347 votes (51.72%)

Amber Quitno, Democrat: 2,191 votes, 48.28%

District 5:

*Kiara Jones, Democrat incumbent: 1,785 (75.93%)

Sasha Cohen: 566 votes (24.07%)

District 6 (uncontested):

*Craig Roman: 2,341 votes (99.96%)

District 7 (uncontested):

*Terri Mann Lamb: 1,674 votes (100%)

District 8:

*William Charles Cummings, Republican: 2,360 votes (51.33%)

Christopher Porterfield, Democrat incumbent: 2,238 votes (48.67%)

District 9 (uncontested):

*Neill Mohammad, Democrat: 2,835 votes (99.68%)

District 10:

*Mary Cozad, Democrat: 2,083 votes (51.78%)

Jeff Whelan, Republican incumbent: 1,940 votes (48.22%)

District 11:

*Roy Plote, Republican incumbent: 2,986 votes (63.52%)

Roberta McFarland, Democrat: 1,715 votes (36.48%)

District 11, 2-year unexpired term:

*Karen Cribben, Republican incumbent: 3,085 votes (65.14%)

Courtney "Court" Schuett, Democrat: 1,651 votes (34.86%)

District 12:

*Jerry Osland, Republican incumbent: 2,582 votes (62.14%)

Brian Kubisak, Democrat: 1,573 votes (34.69%)



Second Appellate Judicial Retention 2nd Judicial:

*Yes: 34,621 (81.96%)

No: 7,621 (18.04%)

Schostok Retention 2nd Judicial District:

*Yes: 33,426 (80.05%)

No: 8,331 (19.95%)


70th House District:

Story: Unofficial AP election results show Keicher leads Illinois District 70 race as of 11:15 p.m. Tuesday

Paul Stoddard, Democrat: 21,637 votes or 42.32% (DeKalb County only: 16,204 votes or 45.21%)

*Jeff Keicher, Republican incumbent: 29,496 votes or 57.68% (DeKalb County only: 19,635 votes (54.79%)

90th House District:

Story: Demmer takes strong lead in 90th District, Ogle County results delayed

*Tom Demmer, Republican: 19,575 votes or 63.99% (DeKalb County only: 6,719 votes or 60%)

Seth Wiggins, Democrat: 11,014 votes or 36.01% (DeKalb County only: 4,480 votes or 40%)


These are the DeKalb County votes for these races:

Story: Trump winds Florida, locked in other tight races with Biden

President (DeKalb County only):

*Joe Biden, Democrat: 24,643 votes (51.35%)

Donald Trump, Republican incumbent: 21,905 votes (45.65%)

Howie Hawkins, Green: 331 votes (0.69%)

Gloria La Riva, Party for Socialism and Liberation: 54 votes (0.11%)

Brian Carroll, American Solidarity Party: 103 votes (0.21%)

Jo Jorgensen, Libertarian: 783 votes (1.63%)

Write-In: 170 votes (0.35%)

U.S. Senate

Story: Democrats Biden and Durbin win in Illinois as polls close

*Dick Durbin, incumbent Democrat: 3,220,926 or 54.59% (DeKalb County only: 23,423 votes or 49.31%)

Mark Curran, Republican: 2,293,741 or 38.81% (DeKalb County only: 21,198 votes, or 44.62%)

Willie L. Wilson, Willie Wilson Party: DeKalb County only: 1,348 votes (2.84%)

David F. Black, Green: DeKalb County only: 596 votes (1.25%)

Danny Malouf, Libertarian: DeKalb County only: 898 votes (1.25%)

Write-In: DeKalb County only: 29 votes (0.06%)

14th Congressional District

Story: Associated Press calls 14th Congressional District race for Underwood

Lauren Underwood, Democratic incumbent: 203,125 votes or 50.67% (DeKalb County only: 9,615 votes, 49.21%)

Jim Oberweis, Republican:197,783 or 49.33% (DeKalb County only: 9,902 votes, 50.68%)

16th Congressional District:

Story: U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger on his way to re-election in 16th Congressional District

Dani Brzozowski, Democrat: 117,803 votes or 35.18% (DeKalb County only: 13,978 votes or 50.68%)

*Adam Kinzinger, Republican incumbent: 217,048 votes or 64.82% (DeKalb County only: 13,567 votes or 49.19%)

Constitutional Amendment Proposing Graduated Income Tax

DeKalb County only:

Yes: 18,892 votes (40.65%)

No: 27,585 votes (59.35%)

Loading more