Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Local content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Sycamore Lions Club announces 2020 pumpkin contest winners

SYCAMORE – Sycamore Lions Club announced the winners for the 2020 Decorated Pumpkin Display contest Friday. This year there were 329 entries to the annual event.

The drive-thru event is held at Sycamore Park on Airport Road this year. The display area is located by the Lions and Good Tymes shelters in the park.

Viewing is from dawn to dusk Oct. 23 through 4 p.m. Oct. 25. Viewing will be limited to drive-by viewing from vehicles. Visitors will not be allowed to exit their vehicle during the drive-by viewing periods. When arriving, follow the signs to the display area, located south of the ball fields.

Pick of the Patch – Irish McCoy

President's Award – Sycamore Public Library

Largest Pumpkin

First – Elizabeth Pondelick

Second – Kaeden Stadie

Third – Unknown

Theme Category (Masked Pumpkin)

5 and under

First – Rhett Hintzsche

Second – Braxton Suchy

Third – Lillian Hawkins

6-7 Years

First – Jaxson Kline-Wolf

Second – Morgan Fritsch

Third – Mason Clark

8-9 Years

First – Shailyn Schroeder

Second – Kaeden Stadie

Third – Presley Lynn Pacaccio

10-11 Years

First – Bronwyn Butler

Second – Layna Peterson

Third – Kylie Runkle

12-17 Years

First – Natalie Morken

Second – Kyla Taylor

Third – Owen Meier

Happy and Fancy

5 and Under

First – Elliot Doty

Second – Grant Alsup

Third – Dallas Duffy

6-7 Years

First – Elyce Marie Smith

Second – Naya Collins

Third – Sonja Flatter

8-9 Years

First – Ava D'Aprix

Second– Olivia Buesse

Third – Ellie Lawless

10-11 Years

First – Layna Berry

Second – Abby Hardesty

Third – Maggie Hasselbring

12-17 Years

First – Abby Burgess and Anna Baker

Second – Hannah Burgess and Lily Baker

Third – Jillian Zeitler

Weird, Ugly and Scary

5 and Under

First – Benson Holtz

Second – Bo Burdick

Third – Sawyer Doty

6-7 Years

First – William D'Aprix

Second – Zachary Alsup

Third – Remy Valdez

8-9 Years

First – Zoey Pearson and Abby Wilson

Second – August and Lincoln Reynolds

Third – Brayden Borchardt

10-11 Years

First – Kyler Edic

Second – Sawyer Davis

Third – Aiden Perez-Cano

12-17 Years

First – Madelynn Swanson

Second – Liam Berry

Third – Claire Lancaster

TV, Nursery Rhyme, News, Current Events, Video Games

5 and Under

First – Wesley Meier

Second – Alexis Beavers

Third – Josiah Hoover

6-7 Years

First – Calista Holtz

Second – Deaken Davis

Third – Lily Hoover

8-9 Years

First – Esmé Beckley

10-11 Years

First – Zoe Tennant

Second – Fiona Holtz

Third – Riley Higham

12-17 Years

First – Angelina Terry

Second – Brooke Panttila

Third – Madilyn Patton


7 and Under

First – Alexis Dierschow

Second – Ben Christian

Third – Emmitt Runkle

8-9 Years

First – Grady Janisch

Second – Evelyn Christian

Third – Foster Hueber

10-11 Years

First – Sawyer Valdez

Second – Bella Bock

Third – Henry Kubitz

12-17 Years

First – Kameron Schroeder

Second – Anya Berry

Third – Addison Dierschow


11 and Under

First – Vivian Meier

Second – Mason and Paxton Hamel

Youth Organization or Group

First – Girl Scout Troop 33

Second – Sycamore High School Key Club

Third – Girl Scout Daisy Troop 338

Family Entry

First – Becker Family

Second – Erickson Family

Third – Duffy Family

Adults (Carved, Scarecrow, General)

First – Linda Braun/Trudy Hickey

Second – Michelle Schroeder

Third – Samantha Butkus

Loading more