Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Election

Candidates seek spots on DeKalb, Sycamore councils, school boards

SYCAMORE – One of the deepest city office races for the April election is a five-way battle for Sycamore’s city clerk, a full-time, $60,000-a-year position.

Lisa Hepker, Cortney Cox, Mary Kalk, Shaney Herrmann and Christiene Drake all have filed nominating petitions, and the first four also will be in a lottery drawing Tuesday that will determine ballot placement. Hepker, Cox, Kalk and Herrmann all filed at the earliest possible time.

In contrast, the part-time position of DeKalb city clerk, which has an annual salary of $5,000, only had one filer: Susanna Herrmann.

Mayoral races in DeKalb and Sycamore both will feature multiple contenders.

In DeKalb, incumbent Mayor John Rey faces a challenge from local businessman Michael Embrey, community leader Jerry Smith and DeKalb County Board member Misty Haji-Sheikh.

Since Rey, Embrey and Smith all filed their petitions at the same time, DeKalb’s lottery drawing will be next Wednesday to determine name order on the ballot.

In Sycamore, all three candidates for mayor currently hold city offices: City Clerk Candy Smith, 1st Ward Alderman Curt Lang and 4th Ward Alderman Rick Kramer. These candidates also filed at the same time and will have their ballot position determined by lottery.

Sycamore alderman seats will be running mostly unopposed, with incumbent 1st Ward Alderman Alan Bauer, 2nd Ward Alderman Pete Paulsen and 3rd Ward Alderman Steve Braser running unopposed. However, James R. Bisceglie and Virginia M. Sherrod both have filed for the council seat from the city’s 4th Ward.

The DeKalb City Council races will be contested for the most part. Wards 2 and 4 each will be a three-way race. In Ward 2, incumbent Alderman Bill Finucane is challenged by William Lamb and Barry Federici.

Incumbent Ward 4 Alderman Bob Snow is running against Patrick Fagan and Mike Bauling.

Former DeKalb School District 428 Board President Mike Verbic will run against Michael “Max” Maxwell for Ward 6. Longtime Ward 6 Alderman Dave Baker will not be running.

Alderman Tony Faivre is the lone candidate for a two-year, unexpired term in Ward 7.

A total of 10 candidates have filed for three open seats on the District 428 board. Board President Victoria Newport was the only sitting board member to have filed.

Other candidates for board seats include Shatoya Black, C. Scott (Clyde) Campbell, Twangie Smith, Sean Johnson, Valerie Pena Hernandez, Catherine Harned, Jeff Hallgren, Jeromy Olson and former board President Tracy Williams.

Sycamore has five candidates running for four open school board seats, including incumbent board President Jim Dombek, incumbent Eric Jones, Jason Hulst, Austin John Hofer and Jeff Jacobson.

The full list of candidates for city offices and school boards won’t be official until the objection period expires, which varies depending on the city. Sycamore’s filing period is until 5 p.m. Monday, DeKalb’s is until 5 p.m. next Wednesday, and school board races are open through 4:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Loading more