Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

4-H awards presented at recognition night

On Nov. 15, the annual DeKalb County 4-H Share the Fun Recognition Night was held for 4-H volunteers and members at the Center for Agriculture.

“This evening is done as a way of recognizing our 4-H members and volunteers for their accomplishments and time during this past year,” Nicole Groezinger, 4-H Program Coordinator in DeKalb County, said in a news release. “We have many 4-H members that completed award applications, and did great things during this past 4-H year, and we wanted to recognize them for a job well done. We also have well over 100 4-H volunteers that have dedicated anywhere from one year to 57 years to the 4-H program that we wanted to say thanks to. Another bonus of the program is that some our 4-H clubs conduct skits during the evening for entertainment, which adds some fun for all involved.”

Outstanding 4-H Secretary Book went to Bailey Hunt of Green Meadows; honorable mention, Lori Drake of Parke Victory.

Outstanding Treasurer Book went to Abby Kuppler of Hinckley Harvestors; honorable mention, Jason Kuhn of Genoa Prairie Gems.

Top 4-H’er Award went to Katie Arndt of Malta Mustang 4-H’ers.

Bob Brown Award for Leadership and Citizenship went to Carson Groezinger of DeKalb Choreboys & Choregirls.

Illinois State 4-H Key Award went to Jaylene Jennings of Green Meadows.

DeKalb County Project Award Winners were Audrey Harrod of Hinckley Harvestors (entomology); Mary Kate Harrod of Hinckley Harvestors (goats and vet science); Carson Groezinger of DeKalb Choreboys & Choregirls (horticulture); Bailey Hunt of Green Meadows (poultry and swine); Jaylene Jennings and Justene Jennings, both of Green Meadows (public speaking, visual arts and swine).

This year’s “Outstanding 4-H Volunteer” award went to Christine Schilling from the Shabbona Pioneers Cloverbud Club.

The Outstanding 4-H Supporter Award went to Dale and Cherie Sanderson.

This year’s recipient of the 4-H Alumni pin is John Boesche.

The DeKalb County 4-H program also recognized other 4-H volunteers for their years of service.

Loading more