49°FOvercastFull Forecast

Daily Chronicle journalists win Associated Press awards

Published: Friday, April 25, 2014 11:57 p.m. CDT • Updated: Saturday, April 26, 2014 12:04 a.m. CDT

Daily Chronicle journalists won 15 awards, including nine first-place awards, in the 2013 Illinois Associated Press Media Editors Association contest, results of which were released Friday.

The Daily Chronicle competed in Division C of the contest, which was for newspapers with a circulation of 15,000 or less.

“It’s gratifying to see our staff recognized for their work,” Daily Chronicle Editor Eric Olson said. “We’re very lucky to have a talented group of people working to report the news every day.”

Among the winners were photographer Monica Maschak, whose photo of the Sycamore football team celebrating a win in the playoffs took first place in the sports action photo category. Page designer Paul Wleklinski won a first-place award for best newspaper page design, and sports writer Steve Nitz took first place in the sports column or blog category.

The staff also won a first-place award for public service for coverage of the IHSA football championships coming to NIU for the first time, and won first place for best newspaper website and multimedia storytelling.

The Chronicle’s sports staff took first place for breaking sports news coverage for their work in covering Northern Illinois’ 47-27 loss in the Mid-American Conference championship football game.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Daily Chronicle.

Reader Poll

Do you think DeKalb County needs a marijuana dispensary?