41°FOvercastFull Forecast

Kishwaukee College holds Student Awards Day

Published: Wednesday, April 16, 2014 5:30 a.m. CDT
(Provided photo)
Kishwaukee College held its annual Student Awards Day on April 1, honoring students for excellence in the classroom and in the campus community. Pictured (from left) are the students who were accepted into Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges: Briana Smith; Yasmine Brooks; Hillary Martinez; Allison Von Ende, Coordinator of Student Activities; Alejandra Paramo; Esmeralda Almaraz; and Bladimir Zacarias. Not pictured are Who’s Who students Stephanie Gonzalez, Willis Pope and Erik Schiszik.

Kishwaukee College honored current students for excellence in the classroom and in the campus community on April 1 at Student Awards Day in Jenkins Auditorium at the College. Awardees received certificates commemorating their achievements.

The following students received awards in the Career Technologies Division:

Outstanding Student in Computer-Aided Design Technology – Alissa Maher; Criminal Justice Academic Excellence – Gurashia Ahmedelmustafa, Ryan Anderson, Christina Cross, Ashley Debartolo, Gabriel Guzman, Bryan Havlicek, Susanna Herrmann, Penny Ingalls, Daniel Monaco, Sarah Plapp, Kara Rose, and William Thompson; Outstanding SkillsUSA Criminal Justice Award – Emerald Fannin, Susanna Herrmann, Penny Ingalls, Kaitlin Palmer, Shenika Perkins-Halmon, Joshua Scott and Patricia Stensrud; Outstanding Students in Diesel Power Technology – Garrett Geuther, Kevin Hildebrandt, Adam Johnson, Garrett Kohlbauer, Grant Meadows and Seth Sprouse; Outstanding Students in Horticulture – Colleen Bott and Catherine Marsh; Outstanding Student in Billing and Coding – Mary Loomis; and Outstanding Student in Welding Technology – Matthew Bratko. 

The following students received awards in Transfer Programs: 

Outstanding Students in English – Scott Glavac, Rachel Bottom, Claire Goodrich and Hailey Dickman; Outstanding Student in Financial Accounting – Kristina Buschek; Outstanding Student in Managerial Accounting – Sean McCormic; Outstanding Student in Philosophy – Courtney Cady, Emily Bunton and Sharon Tucker; Aristotle Award for Excellence in Tutoring – Zachary Klein and Trevor Stephansen-Fitzgerald; Outstanding Student in Forensics – Dominic Johnson; Outstanding Academic Performance in General Chemistry – Chance Hostetler and John Foltz; Outstanding Academic Performance in Basic Chemistry – Matthew Simonson and Janell Pierce; Outstanding Student in Beginning Photography – Jessica Farace; Outstanding Student in Intermediate Photography – Eden Hall; Outstanding Student in Relief Printmaking – Rebecca Miller; 

Dedication to the Craft of Metalsmithing – Joanne Toczylowski; Outstanding Student in Panting – Emily Greer; Outstanding Student in Figure Drawing – Amanda Groff; Outstanding Student in Cartooning – Andy Anaya; Outstanding Students in Digital Art – Eden Hall and Bryce Parker; Outstanding Student in Design – Dara Paone; Outstanding Art Student Fellowship Award – Daniela Beamon and Michelle Turcios; and Emerging Ceramic Artist – Daniela Beamon and Anita Bell.

The following students received awards in the Adult Education and Transition Programs Division: Adult Student Connections Achievement – Jennifer Misener; Adult Student Connections Partnership – Fred Hornbuckle; Award for Academic Excellence – Kathryn Miller and Harvey Gilliam; and I-CAPS Achievement Award – Eduardo Vega.

The following students received monetary awards for their works included in this year’s edition of Kishwaukee College’s award-winning arts/literary magazine, The Kamelian: Essay – September Perez, first place, and Varinia Luque-Placencia, second place; Poetry – Jennifer Stemen, first place, Christopher Henning, second place, and Heather Lynn Doty, third place; Short Fiction – Kristen Drought, first place, Andy Anaya, second place, and Zachary Martin, third place; 2-Dimensional Art – Becki Miller, first place, Bryce Parker, second place, and Jessica Brown, third place; 3-Dimensional Art – Jennifer Wallis, first place, Joanne Toczylowski, second place, and Mary Emmons, third place; and Photography – Eden Hall, first place, Maya Hill, second place, and Nathan Dulceak, third place.

The following students received awards and recognition for their contributions to campus through Student Government and Student Activities: John C. Roberts Leadership Award – Yasmine Brooks; Doris Piatak Community Service Award – Yasmine Brooks; Diversity Achievement Award – Ronesha Barrett. 

The following students were recognized for their acceptance into “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges”: Alejandra Paramo, Stephanie Gonzalez, Esmeralda Almaraz, Erik Schiszik, Bladimir Zacarias, Willis Pope, Yasmine Brooks, Briana Smith and Hillary Martinez.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Daily Chronicle.

More News

Reader Poll

Did you donate money to a local political campaign for April's election?
There's an election in April?