Partly Cloudy
47°FPartly CloudyFull Forecast

DeKalb Township Committee on Youth selects new officers

Published: Monday, March 31, 2014 11:33 p.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, March 31, 2014 11:58 p.m. CDT

DeKALB – Members of the DeKalb Township Committee on Youth elected officers for the fiscal year that starts today at their March meeting.

The committee chose Erica Wade to serve as the its chairwoman after her two years as secretary. Wade is a licensed clinical professional counselor and outreach coordinator for the Counseling & Student Development Center at Northern Illinois University.

Matt Wittrup, a full-time instructional faculty member in the School of Nursing and Health Studies at NIU, was elected the committee’s vice chairman, and Josh Waddle, the membership manager for the DeKalb Chamber of Commerce was elected secretary. All terms begin today and expire March 31, 2015.

Township Supervisor Eric Johnson presented Tim Vincent, the outgoing chairman and Clinton Rosette Middle School principal, with a resolution from the township thanking him for his service with the Committee on Youth as its inaugural chairman and proclaiming Monday as “Tim Vincent Day” in DeKalb Township.

The Committee on Youth reviews and awards grants to provide funding to organizations providing services and programs that prevent and help battle juvenile delinquency in the township. Applications are accepted on a rolling deadline and can be found at under the “Town Board” tab.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Daily Chronicle.

Reader Poll

Will you take advantage of more peak hour TransVAC Green Line runs?