Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Kishwaukee College’s Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducts new members

The Alpha Rho Eta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed 36 students as new members this spring at Kishwaukee College. The new members were inducted during a candle-lighting ceremony held in the college’s Jenkins Auditorium on Feb. 26.

The ceremony was presided over by the current officers of the Alpha Rho Eta chapter: Yasmine Brooks, president; Erik Schiszik, vice president; Esmeralda Almaraz, recording officer; Stephanie Gonzalez, public relations officer; and Willis Pope, hallmark officer. The Kishwaukee College chapter faculty advisers are Allison von Ende and Paula Stroud.

During the ceremony, inductees and their family and friends enjoyed a performance by Carly Gorman, music instructor at Kishwaukee College. The keynote speaker was Joseph Kelly, regional vice president of Phi Theta Kappa. After the ceremony was completed, inductees, family and friends enjoyed a cupcake and punch reception in the Kishwaukee College Conference Center Dining Room.

Annually, more than 90,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa. The purpose of this honor society is to recognize and encourage scholarship among students at two-year colleges. The society provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate to exchange ideas and ideals, lively fellowship for scholars, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. 

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of 12 hours of course work and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college. 

The following Kishwaukee College students were honored with membership in this prestigious organization:

Cortland: Nicholas Baert and Dara Paone

Creston: Hailey Dickman, Sydney Dickman and Emily Hueber

DeKalb: Emily Cotto, Melissa Deball, Colton Diaz, Julia Koca, Molly Macklin, Argyle O’Leary, Stephanie Olsen, Konstantinos Pappas, Fotis Pappas, Matthew Pillers, Tera Ryan, Shyanne Smith and McKenna Teboda

Genoa: Jessica Farace, Aaron Otte and Alejandra Paramo

Kingston: Megan McConnell

Kirkland: Lambertus Schreur

Shabbona: Kendal Baker

Sycamore: Taylor Brady, Amanda Ericson, Jeff Flanigan, Ashlyn Gardner, Norma Gregorio-Perez, Dominic Johnson, Linda Malone, Jessica Mollman and Bryce Owens

Loading more