43°FOvercastFull Forecast

KC’s PTK Honor Society inducts new members

Published: Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2013 5:30 a.m. CST

The Alpha Rho Eta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed 34 students as new members this fall at Kishwaukee College. The new members were inducted during a candle-lighting ceremony held in the College’s Jenkins Auditorium on Oct. 9. 

The ceremony was presided over by the current officers of the Alpha Rho Eta chapter: Yasmine Brooks, president; Erik Schiszik, vice president; Esmeralda Almaraz, recording officer; Stephanie Gonzalez, public relations officer; and Willis Pope, hallmark officer. The Kishwaukee College chapter faculty advisers are Allison von Ende and Paula Stroud.

During the ceremony, inductees and their family and friends enjoyed a performance by Tim Lockman on guitar. The keynote speaker was Sedgwick Harris, vice president of Student Services at Kishwaukee College. Harris spoke on the qualities of effective leadership. After the ceremony was completed, inductees, family and friends enjoyed a cupcake and punch reception in the Kishwaukee College Conference Center Dining Room.

Annually, more than 90,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa. The purpose of this honor society is to recognize and encourage scholarship among students at two-year colleges. The society provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate to exchange ideas and ideals, lively fellowship for scholars, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.  

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of 12 hours of course work and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college.  

The following area Kishwaukee College students were honored with membership in the organization:

Cortland: Joshua Dylka and Allen Harrelson

DeKalb: Edward Adejinle, Alexandra Alter, Cullen Banta, Rachel Bottom, Ellen Conley, Christina Coss, Charlotte Highley, Chance Hostetler, Peter Kern, Stephanie Losey, Olivia Reese, Grace Schaffer, Sherri Seib, Andre Smith and Alissa Taylor 

Kirkland: Susan Velazquez     

Malta: Jessica Castro and Janell Pierce          

Sycamore: Omar Aly, Megan Aslakson, Rebecca Curce, Emerald Fannin, Krysten Jones, Brant Kidd, Kathryn Kovac, Benjamin Lane, Nicole Siuda and Sharon Tucker

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Daily Chronicle.

More News

Reader Poll

Did you watch the Oscars on Sunday night?