The Illinois State Police have created a new Web page designed to answer common questions residents have about the new law that went into effect July 9, allowing licensed gun owners to carry concealed weapons.
The website can be viewed here. It contains answers to 14 commonly asked questions.
Although the concealed carry law set up a system for allowing people to carry concealed weapons, it will be months before the state police have a licensing system in place.
State Sen. Dave Syverson, R-Rockford, encouraged residents with questions to check out the website.
“The state police are currently taking necessary time to put the law into place so they can be sure the process for licensure runs as smoothly as possible for everyone, and that those who receive a license meet the mandatory qualifications,” Syverson said in a statement. “I encourage gun owners to be patient while this process takes place.”
The state police website includes information about the cost of a concealed carry license ($150 for five years for Illinois residents), how to apply (applications will be available by Jan. 5), and how long it will take from the time of application until a license is granted (within 90 days.)
Other information about training availability and necessary qualifications for licensees also is available.
Illinois became the last state in the union to authorize regular citizens to carry concealed weapons. Legislators passed a measure over the veto of Gov. Pat Quinn. The legislation’s passage was in response to a deadline given by a federal court.