49°FOvercastFull Forecast

KC hands out Awards of Excellence

Published: Wednesday, July 3, 2013 5:30 a.m. CDT

Kishwaukee College announced its annual Award of Excellence recipients at the Employee Appreciation Reception held at the Kishwaukee College Conference Center on May 10.

The Awards of Excellence program is sponsored by the Kishwaukee College Board of Trustees to recognize outstanding employees and their contributions to the college. Awards are given in four categories: KCEA Bargaining Unit, Professional Staff, Support Staff and Adjunct Faculty. College faculty and staff members were nominated by community members, faculty/staff of the college, students and alumni.

The nominee and recipient for KCEA Bargaining Unit (faculty, counselors and library personnel) was Michelle Whitman. Whitman has been an instructor in the Office Systems Program for six years and, for the past year, has coordinated the Teaching and Learning Center, a resource and support service for full-time and adjunct faculty on campus.

The nominees for Professional Staff were: Kristine Adzovic, Lindsay Barron, Lisa March, RJ McGarry, Karen Wiley and Beth Young. The recipient of the Award of Excellence was Karen Wiley, athletic director and head coach of women’s basketball. Wiley has been at Kishwaukee College for nine years and in that time has not only lead the women’s basketball program to being ranked in the national polls, but also has overseen and grown the five other sports at the college with an emphasis on excellence not only on the play fields and courts, but in the classroom as well. 

The nominees for Support Staff were: Dan Davis, Sara Hall, Kim Jordal, David Kornfeind, Toni Malley, Kathy Mershon and Doug Moser. The recipient of the Award of Excellence was Sara Hall, secretary in marketing and public relations. Hall has been in her position for five years and juggles not only traditional secretarial duties, but also creative projects involving design and layout as well as organizing many internal and external events for various programs in the college.

The nominees and recipients of the Adjunct Faculty Awards were Linda Kurtz and Jenine Povlsen. Kurtz is a member of the music faculty who teaches music appreciation and piano, both to groups and in private lessons offered by the college. Povlsen is a GED instructor with the Adult Education and Transition Programs division.

In addition to certificates, each recipient received a monetary award and will have their names added to the BOT Award of Excellence plaque permanently on display at Kishwaukee College.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Daily Chronicle.

More News

Reader Poll

Do you think DeKalb County needs a marijuana dispensary?