41°FFairFull Forecast

Kish College celebrates Student Awards Day

Published: Wednesday, May 15, 2013 5:30 a.m. CDT

Kishwaukee College honored current students for excellence in the classroom and in the campus community last month at Student Awards Day in Jenkins Auditorium at the college. Awardees received certificates commemorating their achievements.

The afternoon began with recognition of the Kishwaukee College selections for the All-Illinois Academic Team, Carly Hoecherl and Clayton Peterson. The students received their certificates from Thomas Choice, president of Kishwaukee College. The All-Illinois Team was followed by the selection of recipients for the Ruth Ashelford Pollock Outstanding Nursing Students: Stephanie Jones and Sophie McCarthy.

The following students received awards in the Career Technologies Division: Outstanding Student in Agriculture Transfer – Kevin Shedd; Outstanding Students in Collision Repair Technology – Dominique Betts, Matt Falco, Enrique Garcia, Greg Knuuttila and Lee McCoy; Outstanding Student in Computer-Aided Design Technology – Patrick McDonough; Criminal Justice Academic Excellence – Jacqueline Ginter, Susanna Herrmann and Jason Matthew Vain; Outstanding SkillsUSA Criminal Justice Award – Christine Harbecke; Outstanding Students in Diesel Power Technology – Ethan Orzech, Garrett Kohlbauer, Steven (Kale) Sprouse, Austin Landis, Christian Nshuti and Frank Weyeshe; Outstanding Students in Horticulture – Allen Davidson and Marcella Schwartz; and Outstanding Students in Office Systems – Brenda Butz and Linda Malone.

The following students received awards in Transfer Programs: Outstanding Journalism Student – Grace Martin; Outstanding Students in English – Katherine Harrison, Scott Glavac and Siti Asma; Outstanding Student in Financial Accounting – Jeanine Harp; Outstanding Student in Managerial Accounting – Ayinde Clark; Most Diligent Marketing-Management Student – Kirby Richards; Outstanding Student in Philosophy – Jennifer Grafton, Amanda Hurst, Travis Siwiec; Aristotle Award for Excellence in Tutoring – Zachary Klein and Trevor Stephansen-Fitzgerald; Outstanding Student in Beginning Photography – Patricia Barnhardt; Outstanding Student in Intermediate Photography – Justin Hauck; Outstanding Student in Relief Printmaking – Rebecca Miller.

The following students received awards in the Adult Education and Transition Programs Division: Adult Student Connections Achievement – Tomeka Holloway; Adult Student Connections Partnership – David Wilkinson; Award for Academic Excellence – Gilberto Hernandez; and Commitment to Student Success – Angel Grasty and Itzel Ortiz.

The following students received monetary awards for their works included in this year’s edition of Kishwaukee College’s award-winning arts/literary magazine, The Kamelian:  Essay – Micayla Skonie, first place, Andy Anaya, second place, and Denean Shareet, third place; Poetry – Siti Asma, first place, Destiny Bons, second place, Denise Dolder, third place; Short Fiction – Alexandria Baisden, first and second place; 2-Dimensional Art – Emily Greer, first place, Siti Asma, second place, and Amy Shumaker, third place; 3-Dimensional Art – Monica Hoersting, first place, Mary Emmons, second place, and Ron Lofton, third place; and Photography – Nathan Dulceak, first and third place and  Judah Lenz, second Place.

The following students received awards and recognition for their contributions to campus through Student Government and Student Activities: Student Representative to the Board of Trustees – Gladyz Sanchez; Student Government President – Michael Cirino; Chris Heisner Award – Monique Weaver and Robert Walker; John C. Roberts Leadership Award – Grace Martin; Doris Piatak Community Service Award – Gladys Sanchez; Diversity Achievement Award – Gladys Sanchez; Black Caucus Student Distinguished Service Award – Nicole Sewell; Student Worker Excellence – Randi Ackland and Lonzell Wright.

The following students were recognized for their acceptance into Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges: Luis Aguilar, Michael Cirino, Alex Dolister, Carly Hoecherl, Jennifer Link, Hillary Martinez, Gladys Sanchez and Bladimir Zacarias.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Daily Chronicle.

More News

Reader Poll

How do you expect the economy to perform this year?
Much better than average
Better than average
About average
Worse than average
Much worse than average