65°FFairFull Forecast

Toews, Kane snubbed in MVP voting

Apparently, NHL awards voters did not watch enough Western Conference games during the regular season.

The league announced its three finalists for the Hart Memorial Trophy for MVP on Friday, and Blackhawks stars Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane were left off of the list. Instead, the three finalists were Eastern Conference players Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins), Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals) and John Tavares (New York Islanders).

Although all three of those players had terrific seasons, it's tough to explain the absence of any representatives from hockey's best regular-season team. The Hawks won the Presidents' Trophy for their record-setting season, and Toews and Kane tied for the team lead with 23 goals apiece to go along with defensive contributions.

Toews and Kane still have plenty of time to make a run for the Conn Smythe Trophy as the MVP of the Stanley Cup playoffs. The Hawks eliminated the Minnesota Wild to advance to the conference semifinals, where they will face either the San Jose Sharks or Detroit Red Wings.

-Tom Musick


More News


About the Author

Follow this blog:

Get updates from this blog when they happen by following it on Twitter or using its RSS feed.

Reader Poll

Do you plan to attend a candidate forum for those seeking office where you live this year?
Not sure