16°FFairFull Forecast

Daily Chronicle journalists win awards

Published: Tuesday, April 30, 2013 3:02 p.m. CST • Updated: Tuesday, April 30, 2013 3:20 p.m. CST

Daily Chronicle journalists won multiple awards in the Illinois Associated Press Editors Association's annual contest, the Associated Press announced Tuesday.

Reporters, photographers and page designers had a total of 15 award-winning submissions, including seven first-place awards, competing against other Illinois newspapers with less than 15,000 circulation.

Among the first-place winners were reporter Jeff Engelhardt for business reporting, former reporter Caitlin Mullen for news enterprise series, and web producer John Sahly, and videographers Dan Mott and Lester Johnson for multimedia storytelling.

The Daily Chronicle's sports journalists, including sports writers Steve Nitz and Jeff Arnold and Sports Editor Ross Jacobson, took first place in breaking sports news for their coverage of Northern Illinois' double-overtime victory in the Mid-American Conference title game.

Sahly also won a first-place award for sports column writing, and former Daily Chronicle photographer Kyle Bursaw won first place awards for picture story and sports feature photo.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Daily Chronicle.

Watch Now

Player embeded on all DDC instances for analytics purposes.

Post Game Press Conference: Boca Raton Bowl

More videos »

Reader Poll

How much do you agree with the popular scientific conclusions that evolution and man-made global warming are real?
Completely agree
Somewhat agree
Mostly disagree
Totally disagree