52°FFog/MistFull Forecast

Local women nominated for volunteer award

Published: Saturday, April 20, 2013 5:30 a.m. CST

Illinois residents can cast their vote for the state’s outstanding senior volunteer at through April 30.

The Salute to Senior Service program is sponsored by Home Instead Inc., the franchiser of the Home Instead Senior Care network. The program honors the contributions of adults 65 and older who give at least 15 hours a month of volunteer service to their favorite causes.

Among this year’s nominees are Yvonne Johnson of Sycamore and a DeKalb resident identified on the site only as “Elizabeth M.”

Winners will be selected in each state, and a panel of senior care experts will then select the national honoree from the pool of state winners.

Home Instead Inc. will donate $500 to each state winner’s favorite nonprofit organization, and their stories will be posted on the Salute to Senior Service Wall of Fame. In addition, $5,000 will be donated to the national winner’s nonprofit charity of choice. 

The national U.S. judging panel will include the 2012 winner, Clark Paradise; Dr. Jane F. Potter, chief of geriatrics and gerontology at the University of Nebraska Medical Center; Sandy Markwood, CEO of the National Association of Area Agencies on Aging; and Dr. Harry R. Moody, AARP vice president and director of academic affairs.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Daily Chronicle.

Reader Poll

Do you think DeKalb has a crime problem?