NI Big 12 girls basketball all-conference teams released

Three Barbs headline NI Big 12 first team

After leading the DeKalb girls basketball team to another Northern Illinois Big 12 East championship, seniors Rachel Torres and Courtney Patrick and sophomore Maddy Johnson were honored as NI Big 12 All-Conference first team selections.

Johnson and Torres were voted as unanimous selections. Torres was also the conference's co-MVP in 2012 as a junior, sharing the honor with Rochelle's Michelle Dobbs. Dobbs was named the conference MVP this year.

Patrick was also named to the conference's first team as a junior and was an honorable mention selection as a sophomore.

Joining the three Barbs on the first team are Sycamore sophomore Bailey Gilbert and Kaneland senior Emma Bradford as both were also unanimous selections. Gilbert was an honorable mention selection as a freshman.

DeKalb freshman Brittney Patrick, Sycamore freshman Lauren Goff and Kaneland seniors Allyson O'Herron and Ashley Prost were named honorable mention all-conference selections.

Copyright © 2016 Northwest Herald. All rights reserved.