Ten months after a catastrophic ceiling collapse destroyed their worship space, the members of Mayfield Church and Interim Pastor Bill Nagy invite the community to celebrate with them in rededicating the sanctuary on Feb. 10.
A worship service and liturgy of dedication will be held at 10 a.m. Visitors are welcome. A service of celebration for the wider community will be held at 2 p.m. and feature the dedication of the stained-glass windows, chancel cross and furnishings. Rev. Joe Gastiger, pastor of First Congregational Church in DeKalb, will deliver the message. Refreshments will be served after both services.
The congregation worshiped in the chapel at First Congregational Church for nine months while reconstruction was under way at the corner of Church and Aldrich roads, northwest of Sycamore, where Mayfield Church was built in 1861. Services returned to the renovated space on Jan. 6.
A special feature of the remodeled sanctuary, designed by Jane Kielb and installed by Keith Anderson Custom Carpentry, is the prominent use of the building’s own historic lumber, which was exposed when the room was gutted. The unique chancel cross, altar candlesticks and two offering plates were fashioned by Dave Juday from sections of this extraordinary wood.
For more information, visit www.mayfieldchurchucc.org.