Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Scoring error changes NI Big 12 wrestling team champion from Sycamore to Yorkville

On Saturday Sycamore wrestling thought it had won its second consecutive Northern Illinois Big 12 championship, edging Yorkville by the slimmest of margins.

But a scoring error discovered by Sycamore AD Chauncey Carrick this week changed the results of the conference tournament and handed Yorkville the title.

"Wrestlers in the quarterfinals and 1st round wrestlebacks who did not wrestle in a pigtail were not scored using the Power of Two or more commonly known as the Double Bonus Rule," Carrick wrote in a letter.

The re-scored results gave Yorkville a 218-216 edge over Sycamore. Originally the Spartans were thought to have won the meet with 198.5 points, 2.5 better than Yorkville.

Kaneland and DeKalb had originally finished in a tie for fourth place, but the new results give the Barbs sole possession of fourth place. Geneseo remained in third place.

"I do apologize for this error; however the important thing is to get score correct," Carrick wrote. "This was a great tournament, with outstanding wrestling; I wish we would have caught this error sooner. I would like to congratulate the Yorkville wrestlers, coaches and fans on winning the conference tournament. I would also like to thank everyone in the Northern Illinois Big 12 Conference community for their understanding."

The re-scored results:

1. Yorkville 218
2. Sycamore 216
3. Geneseo 154.5
4. DeKalb 141.5
5. Kaneland 133
6. LaSalle-Peru 108
7. Morris 93
8. Sterling 88
9. Ottawa 84
10. Streator 60
11. Rochelle 46
12. Dixon 22

Loading more