38°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

DHS to stage ‘You Can’t Take it With You’

Published: Thursday, Nov. 8, 2012 5:30 a.m. CDT

DeKalb High School will present “You Can’t Take It With You,” a zany comedy written by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman, this weekend at the school auditorium, 501 W. Dresser Road.

Performances will be at 7:30 p.m. today through Saturday and 2 p.m. Sunday. Tickets cost $10 for adults and $5 for seniors, students and children. Tickets can be purchased at the door. DHS students get in free with their student ID.

The original production of the “You Can’t Take It With You” opened at the Booth Theater on Dec. 14, 1936, and played for 837 performances. The play won the 1937 Pulitzer Prize for Drama. The play also was the basis for the 1938 film directed by Frank Capra. It received the Academy Award for Best Picture and Best Director of 1938. The film version has the same overall plot and themes as the play, but includes new scenes.

“You Can’t Take It With You” centers around an engaged couple, Alice (Madeline “Adi” Alger) and Tony (Matthew Petersen), who introduce their families to each other over dinner at Alice’s family home. While Alice loves and accepts her very eccentric middle-class family, she is not sure if they will be accepted by Tony’s very wealthy, upper crust family. When the Kirbys unexpectedly arrive a day early for dinner, they encounter Alice’s family engaged in a circus of unusual activities and chaos ensues.

The cast includes Rebekkah Neff as Penny, Tom Hagaman as Paul, Steven McMaster as Grandpa, Ellie Seitzinger as Essie, Evan Taylor as Ed, Veronica Ann Sherman as Rheba, Gabe Ihm as Donald, Jacob Costliow as DePinna, Jaycee Mattis as Kolenkhov, Matthew Callahan as Mr. Kirby, Allison Duffin as Mrs. Kirby, Ariel Williams as The Grand Duchess, Rory Gallagher as Mr. Henderson, Olivia Johnson as Gay Wellington, Dennis Spyratos as “The Man,” Avery Maxwell as Jim, and Jesse Heinsohn as Mac.

The production is directed by Michael Apperson. Other members of the production team include Joe Andersen (technical director and lighting designer), Donna Schultz Xidis (costume coordinator), Danielle Taylor Apperson (assistant to the director, scenic dresser, wigs and hair designer), Caleb Weiss (stage manager), Deborah Neff and Caitlynn DeLap (assistant stage managers), Dan Oliver (sound operator), and Lori Neff and Anna Butler (costumers and make-up assistants).

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Daily Chronicle.

Reader Poll

Have you ever attended a town hall meeting?