56°FFairFull Forecast

Cubs officially move Single-A affiliate to Kane County

CHICAGO – The Cubs announced today they have agreed to move their Single-A affiliate from Peoria to Kane County.

They also renewed their contracts with Single-A Daytona and short-season Single-A Boise. All of the contracts run through the 2014 season. The Cubs had spent the previous eight seasons in Peoria before making the change. In 2012, Kane County was affiliated with the Kansas City Royals.

One of the main appeals for moving to Kane County: it is located approximately 45 miles from Chicago.

“We are pleased to reach agreement with Daytona, Kane County and Boise,” Senior Vice President of Scouting and Player Development Jason McLeod said in a statement. “The players who have come through Daytona and Boise have spoken highly of those cities and their fans. With Kane County, it is exciting to know we now have a Cubs affiliate right in our backyard. We look forward to successful relationships with each of these affiliates.”

In the Kane County Cougars' 22-year history, they have made the playoffs 13 times. Including the Royals, Kane County has been affiliated with the Baltimore Orioles (1991-92), Marlins (1993-2002) and Athletics (2003-10).

“We are extremely excited about our new relationship with the Chicago Cubs,” Cougars General Manager Curtis Haug said in a statement. “The close proximity between both organizations will be mutually beneficial in numerous ways. We believe that the Cubs organization and their philosophies about the minor leagues, including scouting, player development, and involvement in the community, are a fantastic fit for our franchise.”

-- Meghan Montemurro


More News


About the Author

Follow this blog:

Get updates from this blog when they happen by following it on Twitter or using its RSS feed.

Reader Poll

How do you plan to take advantage of the nice weather?