Five more Ill. counties to get cameras in courtrooms

Published: Wednesday, March 28, 2012 1:45 p.m.CDT

CHICAGO – The Illinois Supreme Court has approved cameras in courtrooms for five more counties.

The court announced in January that it would allow courtroom cameras for the first time in Illinois under a pilot program.

Approval for the 15th Judicial Circuit was announced Wednesday. The circuit includes predominantly rural Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle and Stephenson counties in northwestern Illinois.

Chief Justice Thomas Kilbride says the circuit brings more geographical diversity to the pilot. Other counties that allow cameras are Madison, Kankakee, Henry, Mercer, Rock Island and Whiteside.

The 14th Circuit along the Iowa border was the first to be approved for cameras, and several proceedings have already been filmed.

The first high-profile test will be this summer's trial of Nicholas Sheley, who's accused of killing eight people in two states.

Watch Now

Player embeded on all DDC instances for analytics purposes.

Huskie Bowl: Rod Carey

More videos

Reader Poll

What's your favorite Easter tradition?
Church services
Family dinner
Easter egg hunt
Easter bunny
Decorating eggs