43°FFairFull Forecast

Five more Ill. counties to get cameras in courtrooms

Published: Wednesday, March 28, 2012 1:45 p.m. CDT

CHICAGO – The Illinois Supreme Court has approved cameras in courtrooms for five more counties.

The court announced in January that it would allow courtroom cameras for the first time in Illinois under a pilot program.

Approval for the 15th Judicial Circuit was announced Wednesday. The circuit includes predominantly rural Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle and Stephenson counties in northwestern Illinois.

Chief Justice Thomas Kilbride says the circuit brings more geographical diversity to the pilot. Other counties that allow cameras are Madison, Kankakee, Henry, Mercer, Rock Island and Whiteside.

The 14th Circuit along the Iowa border was the first to be approved for cameras, and several proceedings have already been filmed.

The first high-profile test will be this summer's trial of Nicholas Sheley, who's accused of killing eight people in two states.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Daily Chronicle.

Reader Poll

How do you expect the economy to perform this year?
Much better than average
Better than average
About average
Worse than average
Much worse than average